On Job Search Grind

Photo by Ethan Sykes on Unsplash

On Job Search Grind

repost on my LinkedIn post

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

New day - new post. Welcome to the new episode of Nadia's TED Talks. Today I wanted to talk about the dark side of the job search grind. Below is my story and the purpose is not to complain but to support those who can relate:

Several weeks ago I broke into tears while making dinner and scared my poor husband. If you have ever seen me in real life, most of the time I am smiling, even here I try to keep it upbeat. The reason for crying was the tension growing due to many reasons, the biggest being an unsuccessful job search, unrealized expectations and financial insecurity. By that time I was ghosted by yet another company, had no success with other applications, and my internship nearing its end. Even clothing stores didn’t want to see me as a sales associate. I was blaming myself for the time lost learning web development and questioning every reason why I should keep applying.

And this is how the job search grind messes with your head and undermines your confidence.

Since that time there have been many positive changes in my life, but to make them possible I had to put myself together. Some strategies can help you resist the pressure and get out of the self-pity trap. I am not a career coach, I just feel that talking about it in public is important and don’t want anyone to face a similar situation unprepared.